I work in a restaurant, and it seems “gluten allergies” are trendy these days. I get all these people freaking out about the tiniest trace of gluten that could be in something (maybe) and the web isn’t much help in sorting out the facts. So, could you smart Dopers help me out with a few things?
Now, for the disclaimer: I understand what celiac disease is, and I respect that those affected by it need to avoid gluten at all costs. Because of this It is important to know which foods can be called “gluten free” and which cannot.
Now for my question. If I cook a gluten free food in a deep fryer (say french fries) that has previously had gluten based foods in it (say battered fish), are the french fries still gluten free? Lets assume for the sake of convenience that the two foods had not been in contact in any other way, and separate utensils were used in preparation. The only source of gluten contamination could be the fryer oil. Can gluten survive the 350˚F of the deep fryer, and cause a problem for a celiac sufferer?
Now, I picked french fries, as an example, but the web is full of tales of french fries that contain gluten. Please assume for this question that the french fries we are using are gluten free.