What happens to Gluten in a deep fryer? (Allergy related)

I work in a restaurant, and it seems “gluten allergies” are trendy these days. I get all these people freaking out about the tiniest trace of gluten that could be in something (maybe) and the web isn’t much help in sorting out the facts. So, could you smart Dopers help me out with a few things?

Now, for the disclaimer: I understand what celiac disease is, and I respect that those affected by it need to avoid gluten at all costs. Because of this It is important to know which foods can be called “gluten free” and which cannot.

Now for my question. If I cook a gluten free food in a deep fryer (say french fries) that has previously had gluten based foods in it (say battered fish), are the french fries still gluten free? Lets assume for the sake of convenience that the two foods had not been in contact in any other way, and separate utensils were used in preparation. The only source of gluten contamination could be the fryer oil. Can gluten survive the 350˚F of the deep fryer, and cause a problem for a celiac sufferer?

Now, I picked french fries, as an example, but the web is full of tales of french fries that contain gluten. Please assume for this question that the french fries we are using are gluten free.

I don’t know the answer to your question, but the apparent increase in complaints about gluten may not be altogether unwarranted.

The prevalence of undiagnosed Celiac Disease has increased dramatically in the US in the past 50 years, possibly due to the fact that the high-gluten “dwarf” variant of *Triticum Aestivum *now accounts for over 99% of the wheat grown here today.

Gluten is by far the most toxic of the commonly consumed foods in the US.

Well, when I bake bread gluten survives the 400 F of the oven for at least 20 minutes, so yes, gluten can survive in a deep fryer