What is a mutant?

I got into a big discussion the other day over the use of the term “mutant.” It started over Sherpas. He referred to Sherpas as mutants because they had more red blood cells and were able to breathe better at higher altitudes. I said, yes, that makes them exceptional, but they’re not mutants. There’s a whole population of people who have the more-red-blood-cells gene, and they evolved that way due to evolutionary pressure. But a Sherpa born with four arms, on the other hand, would be a mutant. If those four arms gave him an evolutionary advantage and he had lots of four-armed offspring, after a while they wouldn’t be mutants any more–they would be a population.

Well, my friend’s an economist and I’m a writer. We need expert opinons to settle this dispute. Webster’s 10th Edition says a mutant is “of, or relating to, or produced by mutation,” which is really not helpful. The various definitions of “mutation” only serve to muddy the water further.

So what’s the deal, bio-dopers? Who is a mutant and who isn’t?

(Please note that both of us agreed that the term is value-neutral and not insulting. We weren’t talking bad about Sherpas behind their backs.)

They are a threat that needs to faced head on with registration and strict monitoring.