What is essential in a basic kitchen?

I’m in a transition phase right now where I no longer desire to eat as much fast food as I usually have, and I’ve been cooking dinner more often. I’m not interested (yet) in doing anything culinarily significant – my best achievement to date has been cooking a pretty tasty top sirloin – but it would be nice to have a decently stocked kitchen to make simple, fast meals that consist of a bit more than a slab of steak.

As it stands, my kitchen is severely underequipped. I don’t have a lot on hand to throw stuff together, and what I do have isn’t necessarily nutritious. Being a neophyte cook, I know there are essentials one should always have on hand (tools, spices, ingredients) that are necessary to make a majority of simple meals, but I don’t really know where to start.

Toolswise, I have a rice cooker, two cutting boards (one for veggies/fruit, one for meat), a good non-stick skillet (though I’m considering looking for a cast-iron), and a few random pots and cookie sheets. Ingredients-wise, I’m clueless and usually don’t have much in stock.

I know there’s plenty of experienced cooks and chefs around here. What would you all suggest is necessary to always have on hand in the kitchen?

I’m not big on cooking and have no advice on what else you need, but I’m in a “getting healthy” transition right now and here’s my advice on breakfast:

You gotta fuel up on protein and carbs in the morning and some fiber would be great too.

I scramble up some egg whites every morning with a yolk or two thrown in. I then eat a small bowl of Kashe GOLEAN with a cup of skim milk. I get plenty of protein, complex carbs and insoluble fiber this way. Oatmeal’s great too as a source of complex carbs with heart healthy soluble fiber, but I hate the instant stuff and it’s easier to pour a bowl of the Kashe GOLEAN.