What is Obama's Healthcare Plan in layman's?

Mods : Please feel free to move this thread. It started out as a question, but I can easily see the focus shifting to a “Great Debate”.

I am a self proclaimed layman. I’m not a drooling, mouth breathing moron. But, by the same token, I’m not the beacon of knowledge and wisdom that so many of us aspire to be. Lately, I’ve witnessed much uproar regarding Obama’s health care plan. The thing is, amidst the venemous debate, I’ve heard nothing of the actual meat of his plan. I could search Google for hours and try to formulate an opinion based on the tens of thousands of blog and forum posts regarding the issue. Problem is, I’m a busy guy and a practicer of willful ignorance (much like millions upon millions of other eligible voters in this country).

It is my opinion that the Straight Dope contains, within it’s forum members, the greatest cumulative knowlodge of any mainstream internet message board. So, I ask ye’, the teeming masses for your synopsis of this healthcare bill. What’s the plan? Will private insurance companies go by the wayside or would the government subsidize our membership with already existing insurance companies? Will we be subject to rigorous health improving regiments lest we lose our coverage? How would the bill affect our privacy? How would the pay of doctor’s be affected - would it be affecteded at all? Being somebody who works his arse off for $8 an hour with no insurance, why should I be against the bill (This is an honest question. Being in the financial predicament I’m in, I am naturally inclined to support universal healthcare in the name of self preservation. I recognize my bias while accepting the fact that I could still be wrong. I want to hear a compelling argument as to why I should take heed).

I’d like to keep this factual, but understand if it turns into a debate - this is a heated issue, after all. So, tell me guys/gals, what’s this bill all about?