What is the deal with hand mixers?

I bought a hand mixer the other day. It looked nice and shiny, and it came with several attachments, including dough hooks, which come in handy.

Then I turned it on…the low speed is well…not low. It is very fast. I can’t imagine what, short of making meringue, the high speed is for. so I go out to look at reviews on hand mixers…nearly all of them have complaints that the low speed isn’t low.

What the hell, people? For those of us who don’t have room on our counter for a big honking stand mixer, where are the quality hand mixers? Even KitchenAid gets bad reviews for their $50 hand mixer because of this.
GRRR.

We’ve got through three or four hand mixers within the last two years that have all broken during before they’d been used ten times. They suck.

This is definitely common on hand mixers.

I’m no engineer, but I believe the answer is that small, cheap electric motors have a limited range of RPMs, and so it would increase the cost and/or size to make them operate all the way from slow to very fast. But hand mixers NEED to go very fast, since they’re probably most commonly used for whipping cream and foaming egg whites, both of which need speed. So you wind up with mixers that tend to range from “pretty fast” to “VERY fast.”

But, at the end of the day, that works okay for me. I don’t find myself needing a “slow” setting all that often. On those occasions I do, my stand mixer suffices.

I was shocked at how fast the lowest speed on my cheap-ass Walmart hand mixer was the first time I used it.

I was also shocked at how easy it is to slosh egg whites all over the counter if you’re ignorantly using a serving bowl as a mixing bowl.

I suspect the small motors would burn out from the strain of low RPMs, they would lack the torque to pull through thick doughs and batters.

I have the exact same complaint as you. The low speed on my hand mixer is still ridiculously fast, and very inconvenient.