What is the deal with street names in Miami?

I am from Austin, which has a habit of changing street names every few blocks. However, that has done nothing to prepare me for Miami.

I am a motorcoach operator (fancy title for “bus driver”) in Miami providing a shuttle service with this weekend’s Formula 1 race at Hard Rock Stadium. My route includes NW37th Street, NW42nd Street, Douglas Rd., and Commissioner Barbara Jordan Way. Sounds fine, except for one thing. THOSE ARE ALL THE SAME STREET AT THE SAME TIME! I don’t mean that it’s 37th Street for a while, then jogs over to become 42nd Street. I mean that ALL FOUR OF THOSE NAMES apply to the same stretch of concrete. WTF? How does that make any sense at all?

As I’ve gotten around the area a bit, I notice that all the streets are like this. I’ve also noticed that E/W streets and N/S streets are all numbered, but I don’t see how you’re supposed to know that 110th Street is E/W and 27th Street is N/S.

Can anyone from the Miami area explain how this works? Were city planners drunk on too much Cuban rum?

(Yes, I know the stadium is in the City of Miami Gardens, not Miami. The hotel is in Aventura and my route takes me through Opa Locka, amongst other municipalities. But, it’s all in Dade County, as far as I can tell.)

A lot of cities give a stretch of road an honorary name, especially by stadiums.

I’m guessing, but if the street number jogs from 37th to 42nd, maybe it’s numbered by what number it would be if it was laid on a grid, and it angled 5 blocks over?

I looked at Miami in Google Maps. Aves. run N-S, Streets run E-W

A large number of major roadways in Atlanta are peach themed and very easily confused.

I have worked in County GIS for 32 years.

What you describe is nuts. Sounds like no organization or rules at all.