What is the most corrosive "acid" known?

I was thinking about everyones favorite alien the Xenomorph the other day and their particularly nasty “acid” blood (I put acid in quotes because all we know is that it is corrosive, not necesarily acidic).

Do such increadibly corrosive substances exist? Are their chemicals that, only a few onces, couold eat through several inches of steel in seconds?

What are these materials and how do they work?

I’m no scientist but I’m thinking that stomach acid, with its Ph of 1.5, could do some damage to metal.

Hydrogen fluoride with water is extremely powerful, even attacking glass.
A mixture of nitric acid and sulphuric acid is not ‘bad’ either.

Both of them are far stronger than stomach acid.

You do not want to mess with Hydrofluroic acid (it’s OK, no gruseome pics).

There is no substance that burns through several inches of steel in a few seconds. I believe you need a 1920’s style death ray fo that.

And by the way, Hydrogen fluoride = Hydrofluroic acid …

Nitpick: Aqueous Hydrogen Fluoride = Hydrofluoric Acid

hmmm. strongest acid i think is perchloric:HClO4… but aqua regia is stronger yet… mixture of concentrated hydrochloric and sulfuric…

I believe perchloric acid is the strongest of all.

Dragon I believe the mixture you described (sulphuric and nitric acid) is aqua regia (royal water) and can dissolve gold.

Darn chaotic - you beat me to the punch.

Great minds think alike though huh ??

and chaotic I think we BOTH got the aqua regia mixture wrong.

It is Nitric acid and Hydrochloric acid.

http://www.bartleby.com/65/aq/aquaregi.html

huh. aqua regia is nitric and HCL… more info, with a dissolving gold video