What is the @ symbol called?

Sorry, someone probably asked this before, but I can’t search it.

What is “@” called?

Masterspace.

It is the “at” sign.

“at-sign”. :slight_smile:

It gets more interesting in other languages. In Esperanto, for instance, it is sometimes called “heliko” (snail), but it is only rarely used.

The Jargon File on the at-sign and other symbols.

Man that is pretty obscure. I did a search for masterspace ascii and got only about 10 results. The ones I looked at said @ was masterspace. I don’t think I have ever seen such a low turnout for a computer related search ever. It does not appear to be a typesetting convention.

In Spanish it’s an “arroba,” actually a somewhat archaic unit of weight or volume. The term was revived when the @ sign became prevalent in computerese.

Depending on your usage of the symbol, this link should assist.

Esperanto is rarely used, that is… :stuck_out_tongue:

I’ve been agitating for “appersat,” by analogy with “ampersand.”

In Hebrew it’s known as a “strudel.” Seriously.

The a is for apple? :slight_smile:

In Dutch it’s officially called “monkey’s tail”. I kid you not.

Me: “Could you spell that e-mail adress for me, please?”
Receptionist: “Sure. That’s S-M-I-T-H monkey’s tail hotmail.com”.

I read some where that some peeps call it a spider-monkey. At sign works for me however.

In danish it’s “snabel-a”, snabel=elephants’ trunk.

-Tikster

Unrelated, but in elementary school I misheard a teacher and for years afterwards thought that the symbol # was called a ‘palensine’ (not ‘pound sign’.)

In Polish it’s malpa (with a line through the ‘l’), which means “monkey.”

In Hungarian it’s kukac, which means “maggot” or “worm.”

It’s called the “at sign” , as noted above.