What is vagal tone?

I have a cardiac arrythmia (multifocal atrial tachycardiac) caused by a wandering atrial pacemaker. Google tells me this is generally caused by COPD or other serious conditions, and if not these then by “variations in vagal tone.” I don’t have COPD or heart failure or some other serious condition they could find, so they just put me on a beta blocker shrugged and sent me on my way.

I looked up vagal tone and don’t understand what it is at all. Can someone explain it to me in simple terms that I can understand?

I didn’t put this in IMHO even though it is medical because I am not seeking advice, merely explanation. Can anyone dumb down the explanation for me?

What’s being referred to is autonomic tone.

More info here

sorry, can’t stay to elaborate.

I’m not a doctor at all but I can try since nobody has responded… The vagal nerve is like a data cable connecting between your brain (specifically the medulla oblongata) and multiple organs including your heart, eyes, lungs, digestive tract, etc. It is responsible for sending signals from your nervous system to those organs when they are at rest, kind of like your car engine when it’s idling as opposed to when the car is moving. The vagal nerve’s actions are automatic (you don’t consciously control it) and constant, running passively. The “vagal tone” is just a term for what the vagal nerve is doing. If the vagal nerve was the cable that connects your TV to the cable company, the vagal tone would be cable service providing you the shows you watch.

Vagal tone, in regards to your heart rate, is what slows down your heart when you’re resting.

Isn’t there something about treatment of clinical depression associated with the vagus?

• off to Google *

ETA: First grab

Vagal tone as an indicator of treatment response in major depression
ANDREA S. CHAMBERS a1 c2 and JOHN J.B. ALLEN a1 c1
a1 Department of Psychology, University of Arizona, Tucson, Arizona, USA

Abstract