What is your experience with emdr?

Someone mentioned it to me last night and I am intrigued. That said, the skeptic in me is hesitant.

The therapy for me would be more for anger over things from my childhood rather than ptsd or physical abuse.

I have no direct knowledge or experience. But when something is listed in wiki’s list of pseudosciences I tend to let the skeptic in me do my decision making.

I very much tend to agree with you but I believe that there have been a few credible studies lately.

EMDR has a large empirical research base and is considered to be an empirically validated treatment. It doesn’t work for everyone, but I’ve seen pretty impressive results when actual EMDR-certified practitioners conduct the treatment.
https://www.google.com/search?q=emdr%20site%3Anih.gov&rlz=1C1VDKB_enUS993US993&oq=nih&aqs=chrome.0.0i355i433i512j46i199i433i465i512j0i433i512j0i131i433i512j0i433i512l2j0i131i433i512j0i433i512l2j0i131i433i512.6615j0j7&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8&ved=2ahUKEwi06ammsfr7AhUeMDQIHUwqCfoQ2wF6BAguEAE&ei=rWyaY_TeHp7g0PEPzNSk0A8

Wikipedia is not an authoritative source on anything, especially since anybody can edit an entry regardless of their actual knowledge or background. EMDR is considered a valid treatment methodology for PTSD by the US Department of Veterans Affairs and various professional psychiatric and psychotherapy bodies, and while the reason why it works is not really well understood at a fundamental cognitive or affective level there are numerous peer-reviewed studies that show comparable or better efficacy compared to treatment with cognitive behavioral therapies and other talk therapies, and frankly more consistent effectiveness than psychopharmacological treatment which is often only marginally effective and even detrimental for people with PTSD.