What killed positive rap?

I’ve been listening to a lot of popular music from the late 1980s and (especially) early 1990s lately and have noticed an interesting phenomenon. Back then, a lot of rap was greatly concerned with putting out positive (stay in school, don’t start violence, you have potential, <I>etc.</i>) messages, but nowadays that’s pretty much nonexistent. In the world of 2003, you’ll have a much easier time finding rap about, say, shooting hookers while your BMW-ed entourage looks on.

Why the change?

$$$$$$$$

Dr. Dre & NWA, and Ice-T, pretty much killed positive rap (MC Hammer).

There’s probably a case to be made that MC Hammer’s antics killed positive rap…

…there are still vestiges remaining. While I’m no expert, The Streets have (has? it’s one bloke) produced some humourous, intelligent tracks.

I guess you’re not a big fan of Nas. I Can.

Positive anything is pretty boring if it’s preachy. If it’s social commentary you’re looking for, though, then Jurassic 5 has some of that as well as just plain AMAZING rhyme skills. The commentary is mostly interwoven as a matter-of-fact thing.

Have you heard of Common, or Black-Eyed Peas? How about Missy Elliot’s “Back in the Day”?

I could go on with more examples, but the pertinent point is, positivity just isn’t as popular overall. Sex, drugs, and rock n’ roll, and all that.

• Self Destruction - a musical project from the 80’s which featured many of rap’s biggest stars together on one song rapping about the evils of gang violence.

Positive people are boring.

Will Smith

His positive rap was so terrible peopele said “This is crap! Hey, this stuff about sex and violence is way better! Let’s listen to this instead!”

But seriously, I blame the media. Anything is popular if it’s portrayed to be “cool”.

It’s not dead. Check out any of the artists at conductivemusic.com and anticon.com. Slug/Atmosphere, Sole, Alias, lots of really, really great hiphop/rap with a contemplative, poetic approach.