What kind of additional medical knowledge could be obtained if vivisection were legal?

See subject.

You meant to specify “human vivisection,” I assume. And it’s worth noting that experimental surgeries are done even on humans under various levels of oversight.

Yes, human vivisection.

I’m not a doctor, and speculating, but I’d guess “not much any more.” We can image virtually any sub-system in the body while it’s acting normally, toss up 3D renderings of organs in real-time, and perform exploratory surgery (which I’ll assume doesn’t meet your definition of “vivisection”) in cases where we need to look deeper.

A hundred years ago, when anatomy was much less understood, and being able to see things “functioning” rather than speculating about them from corpses–it was probably a lot more valuable. Or would have been, if the overlap of “people willing to do human vivisection” and “people who can actually advance science” were sufficiently large. (It probably helped that as you go back in time, there are larger numbers of people that society doesn’t count as “people,” I suppose.)

If I were vivisecting people (“for Science!”), I’d also worry about the vivisection itself putting so much stress on the body that it would taint my results, sort of a macroscopic uncertainty principle.

Vivisection ain’t exactly my field, but we could sure learn a lot if we completely abandoned morality and started doing genetic experimentation on humans. The long generation time would be a pain in the neck, of course.

I’m pretty sure that’s just called “dating” now.