What law is this breaking, if any??

Say I was an electrician, and I went to the local hardware store (without owners permission) and placed the following on ceiling fans;

For installation help call 867-5309., where 867-5309 would be my phone number.

It would be a very small inconspicuous label that probably wouldn`t be noticed by the cashier. Like the size of a return address label.

What law would this be breaking, and what sort of trouble could a fella get into for doing this?

Well if the label is on the actual package you would be false advertising that you are affiliated with the brand or product in some way. I’d say that’s a big no-no. Though IANAL.

I would also think it could be considered as destruction of private property. I would think the store could argue that the product is unsellable with the sticker so either they would have to pay to have it removed or throw the whole product away.

Many hardware stores will provide installation of the product through contractors. Maybe you should contact the manager of the store to see if you can be an approved contractor.

Quickly, I never intend to do this. I was just wundering…

Still, what laws would I be breaking, what would the citation read?
Does this fall under some No-Solicitation law? Exactly which?

IAAL, but I don’t specialize in this. Here are some quick answers:

The first one I can think of is Solicitation. That’s when you’re selling something on premises, and not of the hooker variety. I’m pretty sure you’ll violate some local ordinance against door-to-door selling, and unfair business practices. This isn’t some big law you would be violating. At the most (drawing knowledge from my long ago crim days), it would be a Class A felony, like not more than $1,000 in fine(s) (maybe 2 grand) and up to one year in the local county lock-up. You would have to do something pretty gregarious to get maxed out like that.