What music acts should I see at SXSW?

I’m a programmer for a film festival so will be flying to Austin to attend SXSW in a few weeks to check out the host of US indies that will be playing there.

But my pass also gets me into any and all music shows, and while I love a good concert, I know very little about modern music so have no clue about the performance lineup they’ve scheduled. Still, there are very few music types/genres I don’t enjoy and am always eager to experience something new, so I defer to the music-savvy Dopers out there for any help you’d be willing to provide.

Here’s a list of everyone performing: SXSW 2018 Schedule

Any recommendations? Any Can’t-Miss or Must-See acts?

Thanks for the advice! :slight_smile:

Jesus! There’s dozens and I’m just in the A’s. Albert Hammond Jr is from the Stokes and a solid songwriter. …and you will know us by the trail of dead has been around for a while.

Alice Phoebe Lou - young singer-songwriter type

Todd Rundgren - old singer-songwriter type

Cut Chemist. Or, completely in the opposite direction, Ida Mae, Marlon Williams cos’ he’s a local boy and his voice is beautiful. And I’m only up to the M’s.

Hey, The Wedding Present are still around. Go see them.

More Marlon Williams. He’s great live, too. Also the video is bloody funny.

Awesome! Thanks everyone so far. I’m making a list…

I had a chance to go thru the list a little better:

Wo Fat is a stoner metal band. More like Orange Goblin or Unida than Kyuss or Electric Wizard eh.

Victim Mentality is a metal band from South Korea; if you like 80s metal you’ll prolly like these guys even if you don’t speak Korean.

Dwarves invented rock & roll ffs ;); they’re always worth seeing live.

If I was there I would make sure not to miss Luna Lee.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX-T0eBr31w

Andrew W.K. makes super hard-rockin’ party music that is somehow simultaneously sincere and tongue-in-cheek.

Caddywhompus play melodic indie/college rock