What’s the easiest way to video chat with my special needs brother?

I have a brother that lives in a group home that I’d like to be able to video chat with whenever he feels like it. I’d like to avoid having to get the staff at the home involved when he wants to talk.

I’m not sure how to describe his level of functioning. He can run fairly simple devices to TVs, DVD players and even a VCR. He doesn’t have the dexterity to use a smart phone, nor can he read.

Is there any easy-to-use device available that could be put on their WiFi that would allow us to chat on my iPhone? I’m a database programmer by trade, would building something with Raspberry Pi be doable for someone that writes SQL all day?

Thanks in advance. If a moderator believes that this should be moved to IMHO or MPSIMS, I’m fine with that.

The first thing that pops into my head is a ruggedized Android tablet designed for small children, like a LeapFrog. It does have a webcam and I wouldn’t be surprised if it’s got an easy-to-use video chat app. I didn’t dig too much.

In a worst-case scenario, I bet you could design your own app* that’s just a big red button that launches Skype (or whatever) and automatically calls you.

*In my brain all ‘computer stuff’ is identical and interchangeable, so maybe you couldn’t.

IMO one of the biggest dexterity problems with smart phones is also a problem with most tablets - the “On” switch is very small and difficult to use. Is that solved in the models you’re thinking of?

The Nabi tablet has big icons for clumsy fingers. My grandkids have been using them for awhile. It seems easy for them. I suppose they have cameras in them.

Same question - does it keep the same tiny fiddly “On” switch that most phones and tablets have?

Most of those are push button switches – push on, push off.