What should I plant in my new garden?

Through some odd geographical errors and general human stupidity, I’ve recently annexed a 10’x20’ garden in my little plot of suburbia. (one step closer in my plans to take over the world!)

I have some limited experience with gardens in my childhood - but all I remember is the weeding. And weeding. Weeding in the hot sun, weeding in the high humidity, weeding until I closed my eyes and dreamed of weeds. That and putting little corn seeds in the dirt exactly 18" apart.

Up here in central Pennsylvania, my neighbors with gardens haven’t done anything to them yet, so it seems I’m a little early for planting. Though these packages of pea, lettuce, and broccoli seeds say they’re supposed to start early, so I think I’ll put them in tomorrow evening.

Right now there’s a towering brussel sprout plant left over from last year, as well as two chives plants running wild. And I just put a fence around the perimiter. All set and ready to go… I just have no idea what to plan and am feeling a bit intimidated.

Strawberries. Grow yourself some strawberries.

I remember the weeding and weeding and weeding, too, but I also remember the eating of strawberries while doing so, if you were the lucky one who got the strawberry section. As a responsible adult, though, you’ll probably wash them first. :wink:

Cucumbers and watermelons were good, too, but you couldn’t pick and eat those while you were weeding.

Strawberries. That’s perfect. Nothing would be cooler than to take a pint of strawberries in to work and show off, saying I grew 'em myself!

Ouch - looks like I’m a little late to put them in :eek: Best get cracking.

Congrats on your new patch of dirt.