What to do if a payroll check is refused

I need help. I am a high school teacher and supposed to have all the answers.

A student came to me today and said that her payroll check had been refused at her bank. I told her to take it to the bank that it was drawn on. Tried that, they refused it too. Go talk to your manager, I told her. Tried that too, he blew her off. Take your mother with you, I say. Mom wants me to show responsibility and take care of it myself, says she. I’ll get back to you tomorrow say I.

Dopers, please help. We are in Texas. She has two checks waiting to be cashed. One is 88 days old and invalid after 90 days. The student is 16, and we are dealing with a major cinema chain.

What reasons were given for the refusals?
Does she have picture ID?
Did she try the branch manager at the bank it was drawn on?

Call the State Attorney General’s office. While it’s generally a misdemeanor to write bad checks, bouncing payroll checks is somewhat more illegal – the employer may be guilty of a felony. I once had an employer who bounced no fewer than 6 paychecks on me (it may have been more, but it was a long time ago) and I found out how much it sucks to suffer that kind of employee abuse.

In any event, the company for which the student works is obligated to make good on its own payroll checks. She should cash it at her place of business and deposit the cash in the bank. In the future, she’d be wise to request payment in cash instead of by check.

Refuse as in ‘refuse to cash the check’ or refuse as in bounce the check. If it’s the first, open an account (if she doesn’t have one) and deposit it and wait for it to clear. If it is the second, Cap’n Crude gave an answer. Also, if it is a major cinema chain, copy the CEO on the letter.