What was you first apartment (or whatever it was) like?

For whatever reason I got to reminiscing about the crappy little apartment I lived in from my senior year in college until I finished my Master’s degree. So now I’m interested in hearing about what other Dopers’ first residences were like. I assume for the vast majority of people it was an apartment, but of course I don’t intend to exclude those who might have lived in a small low cost of living town or rural area, where you might have had a small house, or mobile home, or something like that. So whatever it was, describe the first place you lived that was neither your parents’ house nor a college dorm, and you paid for yourself, at least partially (if you lived with roommates or a romantic partner).

I moved into my first place in the summer of 2002, my senior year of college. I had some money from working as a co-op at a big tech company (like an intern, but you’re treated more like a regular employee) and wanted to move off campus. Being a very introverted person, I didn’t want roommates; I had enough of that living in the dorm. I wanted a place all to myself. So pretty much my criteria were cheap, and close to campus. And did I mention cheap? Found a 1 bedroom for $395/mo, including water. This was in Raleigh, NC, a fairly low cost of living area, but this was very cheap even for there.

The apartment was iirc 450 sq ft. It was basically 2 main rooms, although if you count the bathroom and walk-in closet you could say there were 4 rooms total. The front room had a narrow living area on one side, and a kitchenette on the other. A counter divided the two areas. Since there was no room for an actual dining table, that counter was clearly meant to be the eating area. At the back was a small bedroom, and the aforementioned bathroom and walk-in closet were off the bedroom.