What were your kicks in 1976?

The year of the Bicentennial, the year I graduated, and the year I joined the U.S.A.F.
Instead of the school colors(green and gold), we were forced to wear alternating red, white and blue gowns…but we came down the aisle humming Springsteen’s “Born To Run”. “Bohemian Rhapsody” was all over the radio, Frampton Came Alive, Dreamboat Annie sailed into our hearts, and McCartney used his Wings to travel at The Speed of Sound. The Cray 1 was born, as was Apple Computers. I remember the scorching hot parade grounds during the 4th of July during basic training(eight people passed out while standing at attention). After basic I was sent to Chanute A.F.B. in Illinois for further training in Crewchiefin’ a B-52D…and how to survive if the Earth ever freezes, because that was a hella cold winter.
I fell in love with three different Airmen, the Cubbies, and the Chicago Dog(please don’t ask in which order), met my first African-American acquaintance/friend, and smoked my first weed.
It was not a boring year for me-How was it for you?

In '76, I was selected for an officer accession program in the Navy (NESEP) and in April, I left San Diego enroute to Newport, RI, for a “prep school” - a summer of assorted refresher training to get us ready to be university students. I was there for July 4, and I seem to recall there were some British ships visiting.

In August, I reported to Purdue, Univ to begin studies in Aero Engineering, and I discovered that Lafayette, Indiana is in the middle of nowhere!

That was also the year I got my first new car, financed thru the Bank of Dad. It was a Datsun B-210, and it was the car that convinced me never to buy a 2-door car again.

So, not boring for me, either.

I spent the year goofing around, watching television, and being catered to hand and foot. (I was three.) It has all been downhill from there.