What would happen if you cut the cables on the Golden Gate Bridge?

Would it collapse? Are those vertical cables used to actually hold up the road portion or are they just for decoration?

If they’re actually structural, does that mean those two horizontal cables actually hold up the entire bridge? That’s amazing…

Yes, the cables hold up the entire roadway. If you cut the cables anywhere along their length, the entire roadway will fall into the water. (This is something that movies nearly always get wrong).

Are you claiming that if one vertical cable were cut the entire roadway would collapse? Unless the cables are looped so there’s really only one (which I doubt), this sounds liek a sever under-design on the bridge. It’s been a long time since I studied engineering, but as I recall bridges are designed with safety factors over 2. Certainly one missing cable wold be more than adequately compensated for by its neighbors.

I think he was referring to the long, horizontal cables that run from shore to shore. Not the vertical ones that hang the roadway from the cables.

The east and west sides have horizontal cables that run from one end of the bridge to the other. They are not really horizontal, but curved. Two of them. They are about 3 feet in diameter. There are lots of vertical cables about 2 inches in diameter from the roadbed to the thick cables. The loss of a few vertical cables would not be catastrophic. The loss of either of the 3 foot cables would pull apart the whole bridge.

The two horizontal main cables hold up everything. What you see is actually a casing, inside are 27,000 smaller cables. They were made by spinning cable from one end to the other, over and over again, for six months.