What would proper bipedal design look like?

In this thread, several examples refer to the common trope about human body features being better suited for four-legged creatures, but are drawbacks for bipeds. Everything from our skeleton to our sinuses to our uterus (well, for half of us) worked more efficiently for our evolutionary quadruped ancestors, but became liabilities once our species decided to walk upright.

So…have any experts seriously speculated about what a more efficient body design would look like, had our ancestors evolved as bipeds for millions of years, or (if you so choose to believe) our Grand Creator merely chose to make it so?

I’m not an expert in anatomy or physiology or engineering, but it would seem to me that simply placing the sinus drainholes at the lowest point would be easy enough. I’ve often wondered what the purpose of the sinus cavities is, anyway.

I have a Scientific American with an article on that… or at least had.

So we have resonant, sexy voices when we say, “Hey baby, how you doin’…?”

One thing I’ve seen pointed out when this subject comes up is the lack of sufficient internal vertical structural support in our bodies. Things tend to sag or worse.

Drainage valves at the bottom of our lungs are something else we lack; quadrupeds don’t really need anything like that since their lungs are horizontal.

Cecil wrote a column on that. Knowledge doesn’t appear to have advanced much on the subject since then.

A centralized placement of the spinal column and central nervous system would probably be better. Have it run through the center of the torso and neck rather than pressed up against the surface. That way, it would provide better support to the body, closer connection to other nerves, and would be better protected from injury.