Whatcha Playin'? in July 2023

Sorry if I missed a like thread, but is there no place for people to post about what’s currently catching their fancy? Historically I think this thread has covered any sort of gaming, video games, tabletop games, board games, etc.

I just started playing Pentiment on PC.

It’s a character-driven choice narrative set in an incredibly realistic and historically accurate Medieval
City. You play a conscripted artist working in a Scriptorium on your latest masterpiece. Apparently the research is so well done, the design of the church building and the lesser saints and the pagan mythos are all specific to that actual town. When you’re talking to people, and they mention something historically or culturally relevant, you can click on it to learn more about it. This one’s a must for history buffs. The kinds of people and ethical problems you encounter seem very realistic for that era. I’m guessing, I wasn’t there. Plenty of murder and intrigue and sex and violence… but it’s educational! The art style is also wonderful.

And of course I’m playing Diablo 4, the mother of all fantasy action RPGs, on PS4 Pro. It’s worth the $70 so far despite some minor frustrations. It’s most fun doing couch co-op with my husband. We are about to start Season 1. I haven’t lost interest yet.

Diablo 4 is the plan once the new season starts up tomorrow. Realistically though, that’s a distraction until Baldur’s Gate 3 drops in early August. Probably going to run Barrage Rogue in Diablo 4 and not take it too seriously – just focus on the seasonal challenges.

I keep trying to fit in Etrian Odyssey since I got the new PC bundle back in June. I really like that genre and certainly want to motivate future Atlus releases on PC. It’s pretty hard to prioritize it.

The avalanche of releases is about to start. It’s ridiculous. Jagged Alliance 3 is also looking pretty tempting.