What's the Biggest Career Change You've Ever Made?

The title pretty much says it all - what’s the biggest career change you’ve ever made? Florist to professional baseball player? Whatever it is, I’d love to hear about it. How long had you been thinking of pursuing the new career? How successful was it? How hard was it to get started? Were other people supportive? I’m a college student, and at times I feel like I’m on the verge of locking myself into something for the rest of my life (and I had feeling pigeonholed).

I suppose a related issue is how big of a lifestyle change have you made, but that’s probably a topic for another thread.

Marketing/Editorial for a major U.S. retailer (medium-sized midwestern college town)
to
Manager of a horse farm/horseback riding instructor (middle-of-nowhere rural Virginia)
to
Law student/soon to be attorney (New York City)

I worked as a fruit picker, on a hay baler, and emptying porta-johns at a construction site, but I never considered those to be a career.

My first career was designing mufflers for cars you may have driven. It was boring as all get-out, so I quit and went to graduate school in engineering. I went from making $60K (in today’s dollars) to less than $20K. I gave it a lot of thought, because I always give everything a lot of thought, but in the end it wasn’t a tough decision. I remember having decided definitely to go back to school, then changed my mind and was definitely going to stay with the car company, and then a week later definitely was going to school, etc. In the end I just closed my eyes and jumped.

At the time, I was married to someone who was also in school, and we had no kids and no mortgage and had never developed any expensive hobbies, so my thought process was purely one of: what did I want to be doing ten years down the road. If I had to make a similar decision today, there would be a lot more factors involved.