What's the deal with honor colleges?

Back when I went to college there was no such thing. My kids haven’t even started applying to college so I have no experience through them.

In some ways they seem like the ideal place for a bright student. You don’t have to have the supercompetiveness of a top fifty college every second for four years. You can choose to hang out with the more studious types or the regular students.

Anybody have any information to share?

Well, since you specifically asked for my input via e-mail, I’ll mention some of my own experiences from my honors college (with many apologies for the length…I didn’t intend to write so much when I started).

Mine was a state school up in Pennsylvania that received an amazingly generous endowment from a wealthy benefactor to put together an honors college. It has been running only since 1996, so it’s not quite as polished and smooth-running as other honors programs, but it’s still pretty good, considering. It’s really selective (or so I was told) and only about 100 students are admitted for each class, leaving around 400 in the whole college. There are about 13,000 students in the entire university, so the honors college really is just a miniscule portion of the university.

There’s a basic core curriculum (which is fairly common among most honors programs, as far as I can tell – among the really good ones, anyway. The bad ones tend to be the “just show up and we’ll put you in a smaller class” type. Not what you’re looking for at all) that looks at various questions like “How do we tell the good from the bad?” and “What is knowledge and what is belief?” from various angles, like through art and philosophy and history and so on. That covers almost all of the liberal studies requirements (using small classes, even…though the university in general has small class sizes) and involves enough writing to make your printer weep in frustration. But that’s another story.