What's the deal with olive oil?

Hello everyone! Newbie here. Please be gentle as I’m not too sure what I’m doing yet.

Before I ask my question, I need to explain why I’m asking it. Earlier this year I joined Weight Watchers. So far I’ve lost 51 lbs. (and I say that strictly to brag. :D) Anyway, when I started the program I heard a lot of people and read a lot of articles singing the praises of olive oil, mostly that it tastes wonderful and is better for you than regular cooking oils. While I’m not denying the taste (yum!), the nutritional information on the labels don’t scream healthy to me. (14g of fat per tablespoon?!?) So if there are any chefs out there who can help me with this, what exactly is the big screaming deal about olive oil? Is it healthy or not?

Any answers will receive many thanks.

I don’t think the main thing about olive oil is its calories, it has around the same as other oils. It’s just that the type of fat it has is better for you than heavier fats such as animal fats and tropical oils, while tasting better than the lighter vegetable oils. I’m not sure if the types of oil it has is better for you than lighter vegetable oil, though.

Then there’s the whole thing with omega acids and antioxidants but who knows what the deal is with that. But you’re right, it won’t save you on calories unless you use less oil because of its tastiness.

It is healthy… or better if you say it is healthier than the alternative of using animal fats or even many other vegetal oils.

And, as the poster above mentions, it has nothing to do with the amount of calories or the amount of fat, but with the type of the fat. Olive oil is very rich in monoinsaturated fats, which tend to reduce the risk of coronary problems. At the same time there are other claimed benefits and properties:

-Cholesterol regulation
-Antihypertensive effects
-Anti cholesterol oxidation