What's the difference between a lawyer and an attorney?

About 2 IQ points?

Couldn’t resist.

I’ve got a J.D., and I always refer to myself as an “attorney” because whenever I say “lawyer,” people seem to think I’m saying “liar.” Too close for comfort…

In ‘Easy Rider’ Nicholson identified himself as ‘a lawur for the A Seal You.’

“Something inciteful that some one else once said”- Suhm Wonn (1397-1334)

My understanding was that when I graduated from law school I became a lawyer. When I passed the bar exam and was admitted to the bar, I became an attorney.

“Owls will deafen us with their incessant hooting!” W. Smithers

http://www.straightdope.com/mailbag/mattorney.html

It’s useful to distinguich between an attorney at law and an attorney in fact. Black’s Law Dictionary defines them as:
attorney at law

attorney in fact

An attorney is simply defined as "an agent of substitute, or one who is appointed and authorized to act in the place or stead of another.

So, to be an attorney at law, you will need to be licensed to practice law. Thus, you can also call yourself a lawyer.
To be an attorney in fact, you need someone to grant you a power of attorney. You not need to be licensed to practice law to fit into this category.

The only real distinction in the US, is that pretentious lawyers prefer to be called attornies.

Everyone must be using the link,no one has brought up ‘barrister’.A truly disgusting breed, not only do they committ barritry they do it while wearing wigs and long silky robes, now that’s just sick.

CKDH, is that YOU? The name change completely fooled me! ;).
And the answer to the original question is… about $100 an hour.