Whats the straight dope on Maximizer vs Quikrete concrete Mix?

pouring a 4’ x 8’ 4 in slab. Home Depot guy urged me to use Maximizer because it requires less bags and is supposedly stronger PSI. It’s also more expensive. :rolleyes: But, Home Depot guy claims the cost is about the same because there’s less bags used.

I’d used Quikrete in the past. But, am always open to something better. :stuck_out_tongue:

Quikrete’s online calculator says 32 sq ft is 24- 60 lb bags. Maximizer calculates it as 22- 40 lb bags.

I really like the sound of those 40 lb bags. :smiley: 60 lb bags get kind of heavy after the tenth bag is carried a hundred feet into the backyard.

So what’s the straight dope? Is Maximizer all it’s cracked up (he he) to be?

I’m not a concrete expert, but I do know that the stiffer you make the concrete mix (i.e. less water) the stronger it’ll end up. That’s probably a more important variable than the brand of concrete you buy to pour your slab.

Normally I’d never ask about two brands. Chevy or Ford. Flip a coin. They are basically the same car.

Home Depot guy made specific claims about Maximizer. Was he full of uh concrete? :smiley: Or is he right?

Thought I’d give the S Dope a try before flipping a coin. Guys that have used Maximizer may have noticed a difference worth commenting about.

Well I did a little digging

according to Maximizer 80lbs = 1.0 cu

according to Quickcrete 80lbs = .6 cu

Went to a contractor blog and found this

http://www.contractortalk.com/f48/concrete-countertops-hard-troweled-90428/

Scroll down and look at posts 5 thru 9

Looks like they are having problems keeping the moisture in the mix using Maximizer FWIW

CAPT

thanks. I’ve been building & leveling my form tonight. Tired and a bit sore from the digging.

I’ll pick one and go with it.

I noticed Lowes’ web site doesn’t sell Maximizer. Only Quikrete. Home Depot sells both. Lowes & Home Depot price for the 80 lb Quikrete is the same (3.48 a bag)

This is my kind of thread!