What's wrong with public education, how do we fix it, and how do we pay for it?

I’ve heard and read many complaints about public education. Public Education gets lots of potshots taken against it, on these boards and elsewhere.

So, what exactly is wrong with PubEd?
How can we fix it?
How do we pay for it?

I’m a math instructor at a Florida high school, and would genuinely like to know your thoughts, experiences and solutions. Here are two germs of ideas I have:

1. We need more “real-world” education. Vocational Ed is a good thing.

2. We need to, as a culture, place a greater emphasis on personal responsibility. Encourage people to take care of themselves, rather than demanding that others pick up slack.

These idea-germs are pretty vague, I admit. Would someone care to help work towards a plan for improved education?

IMHO its the parents AND the kids fault. The parents need to start dropping the hammer on these kids when they are young and FORCE them to do homework, read with them, etc…

Once they are in high school though I think that the responsibilty lies more on the kids. These kids are old enough to take responsibility for not doing homework or not going to class. As a young child I think that the teachers have a responsibilty to motivate the kids to want to learn.

Once these kids reach high school this responsibility shifts to actually teaching, what can be, more difficult material. Its the kids responsibility to motivate themselves. I am sure that it is difficult to teach Trig to a class with 20 kids in it when only 12 want to be there. If they spend the whole time trying to control or motivate the other 8 then the 12 lose out.

I am not saying that the system is perfect, but lets all own up to the fact that a 14yr old is hardly a “child” anymore. Stop wiping their asses for them and make them take responsibility for their actions. Fail them if they don’t make the grades.

Get rid of the teacher’s unions.