What's your image of war and battle?

As the title. If someone asked you what images immediately spring to mind when you’re asked to imagine ‘war’ and then ‘battle’ what do you think of?

Do specific historical incidents spring to mind or is the idea more nebulous? For me, purely because it’s fresh in my mind because of recent reading, ‘war’ makes me think of shell girls in the First World War manufacturing tons of high explosives, the noise of the factory floor. ‘Battle’ makes me think of the Somme, the rattle of the MG-08s and Vickers, shells exploding and screams.

For me, it’s the opening scene of “Saving Private Ryan”, as they storm the beach. That’s still powerful stuff.

Father was in the Pacific theatre in WWII.
Malaria and shoveling brains out of the aircraft with his hands come to mind.

The first image that came to my mind was those famous chaotic paintings of The Crusades. In my childhood, I made it a life goal to avoid war, so I have no personal experiences.

He may have crossed paths with my dad – AVG and then 14th AF I believe.

Boredom is my image of war; a ton of sitting around and doing stuff - some to prepare for battle and some just make-work.

Battle is more an image of confusion and terror – say a cross between the opening battle scenes in Kelly’s Heroes and the first bug fight in Starship Troopers.

An interesting YouTube account of first person combat footage is FUNKER530. On their main page today is video of a 500lb bomb accidentally dropped on an American position.

The videos here show much of the confusion and other non-Hollywood vision of warfare in the modern age. It’s certainly worth a view.

My image would change based on recent context. If I had just been talking about Medieval warfare, then I’d have that kind of image. In a more modern context, I’ll probably default to something like the opening scenes of Saving Private Ryan that someone else mentioned.