When are you at your most creative?

Is it some place that is magical for you, the company you keep, a specific time of day? As an artist, I am curious as to what stimulates each person’s creativity.

“Only when he no longer knows what he is doing, does the painter do good
things.” --Edgar Degas

(Dangit…thank’s to OpalCat, I have that song stuck in my head…PurplCrackWhore and I don’t care… hehe)

Anyhow, oddly enough I find my most creative side starts in the evening. Usually around 7:30ish. I can work through to 3:00 or 4:00 in the morning. (part-time web designer)

I am not much of a morning person, my brain doesn’t function much till about 11:00am.

There are the odd days where something inspires me and I can be creative in the afternoon but never mornings.

Any ideas on how to break a creative block? (going through one now)

I’m at my most creative when under great mental stress. Desperation is the mother of invention I guess. If I’m writing a paper, I will have total writer’s block until the night before… poetry only comes out when I’ve been dumped, or am in fear of it… if there’s no pressure, I just can’t force anything out.

http://www.madpoet.com
The early bird gets the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese.

Well it depends:

At work - Under stress… I can resolve many issues when under a tight looming deadline

At play - After stress when my mind is so overloaded that it just wanders.

How do you like that! And without so much as a “Kiss my foot” or “Have an apple”!

Walking my dogs, particularly if I’m walking them at night.

I think it helps creativity to have some time to turn your thoughts inward, free from the T.V. and radio and computer and people in general. The darkness helps by limiting the visual distractions.

As with the above posts, I work best under stress. As for new ideas, however, I find that there is something of a correlation between the idea/thought/etc. that I come up with and the distance I am from any writing utensil.