When did DC Comics get away from the campiness?

I got a DC Universe subscription recently(as well as Marvel Unlimited) and have been reading a lot of old comics. 1930s-40s DC is pretty interesting but once you get into thee Silver Age the stories just get way out there, ridiculous, and have no impact on anything continuity-wise. It’s like TV shows of the era, where no matter what happens, everything is back to normal by the end of the episode.

Now I know about how Dark Knight Returns and Crisis on Infinite Earths brought DC into the modern age, but having read DC pre-Crisis in the 80s they’d already gotten away from most of the campy Batman '66-style writing. About when did this happen, so I can start from there?

Marvel, on the other hand, from the time Spiderman gets started and Galactus makes his first appearance in 1965, are on a big time creative roll. I have to imagine DC took notice at some point. How long did it take? Because man those 50s-60s stories are tough to read.

Kirby invasion, New Gods, and Kryptonite No More.

When did they get Kirby, the 1970s? So right around 1971 or so it stops sucking?

I suggest a major catalyst was the retirement of editor Mort Weisinger and his replacement by Julius Schwartz in 1970. Schwartz had been editing Batman titles for a while and had already cut away a number of the sillier elements like Bat-Mite and Ace, the Bat-Hound. Weisinger’s departure gave Schwartz a chance to do a similar paring of the Superman titles.

I have never heard of Bat-Mite and the Bat-Hound and thank you for telling me about them before I stumbled across them myself.

Funny note: that Batman slapping the shit out of Robin meme isn’t an isolated incident. In the 40s he must have slapped Robin silly every few issues.