When did the term Sci-fi become acceptable?

In the late '70s I was laughed out of am SF convention for using the term “sci-fi” which marked me as a total noob.
Any idea when the term became acceptable?

The Google Ngram viewer shows published use of “sci-fi” close to zero in the early 1960s and increasing sharply between about 1970 and 2000.

This article includes a televised discussion from 1997 of objections to the term “sci-fi”.

As recently as 2013, this writer considered the term as still needing to be defended or justified to some extent.

When I was a kid in the ‘80s we had no problem with “sci-fi” so I expect it became acceptable when my generation got old enough to be the majority in attendance at sci-if conventions.

The OP meant, I think, acceptable as a term of reference within the SF and SF fandom communities. Prior to that acceptance, “Sci-Fi” was held to represent what non-SF folks thought that all Science Fiction was. “Sci-Fi” was lowest common denominator science fiction. Wouldn’t keep you from enjoying it, mind you, but you would kind of feel like you were slumming.

This was especially true of the film world.

I never understood the distinction, to be honest, nor the disdain. Sci-fi seems a normal enough shortening, just as low-fi and hi-fi and wi-fi are all acceptable terms IMO. [/shrug]

In my opinion, it started getting wider acceptance (within the fan community) when the SciFi cable network became popular. I think at that point all the people who used to bristle at the term decided to shrug their shoulders and give up the fight. At least we had a good source of material to watch 24/7, so it wasn’t worth fighting it anymore.

There was a time when devotees of the show Star Trek insisted that they were NOT “trekkies”, but rather “trekkers.” To use the former term was to invite derision, since it labeled you as being an outsider.