When did you take your LSAT or GRE?

I’m a second-semester junior philosophy major, technically a senior by credits but planning to finish out the full fourth year anyway. I’m going to take both the GRE and the LSAT, because I’m having trouble deciding whether to go to law school or grad school (with the intention of teaching) and I’d like to see what sort of options I have. I plan on applying in the fall, since I’ll graduate in Spring 04.

I’m not sure whether to try to squeeze my tests in early or wait until the fall. Any opinions either way?

I’d lean toward taking them now, because I don’t retain things well. OTOH, if you don’t have that problem, and might be better rested in the fall, take them then.

Take the Prep-course.

I graduated Magna undergrad, and the best advice my advisor gave me was to take the prep. And I got into my first choice grad school… I took the GRE October of my senior year.

I took the LSAT December of my senior year, which was really too late to effectively apply for admission that cycle. It was ideal for my personal schedule, I was able to combine crunch times from finals and the LSAT, and I did very well, but if you can get your act together earlier and still acheive the score you want, I would highly recommend it.

The Princeton Review was VERY helpful for both my roomate and I. Prep is good.

GRE.

No prep course. Took it about 3 years after I graduated.

Aced it.

Don’t know much about the LSATs, but take the GRE before November of 2003 at the latest. This is because it takes a while (take a month and a half to be safe) for the official score reports to be released/sent to the schools that you are applying to. And a lot of grad schools have Jan deadlines. That gives you just about enough time to get the GRE scores to the schools within their deadline dates.

If you plan to apply Early Action or Early Decision, consider giving your GRE earlier.