When Will Scientists Create Living Things?

When are scientists expected to be able to creating living things from raw materials (chemicals)? Is the easiest thing to create a bacteria or a virus?? How long is it expected to be before this is accomplished???

define “living”

I’m not a bio-chemist or anything, but I’m asking when scientists will be able to create biological organisms- ones that eat, move around, and reproduce on their own- out of chemicals alone.

I’m not an expert in the field myself, but I believe that though in your OP you included viruses as an example of a “living” thing, they do not meet your criteria. They don’t eat, and I don’t think they reproduce on their own, but rather invade cells which reproduce thus increasing the virus population, but I’m not really sure about that.

Also, a robot can be programmed to do all the things you specify but I think you would agree that this is not “alive” in the way that you are asking.

So again I ask, how do you define “living”?

Viruses aren’t technically “living” things, according to a lot of scientists, because they use the reproductive mechanisms of organisms to reproduce - they can’t do it on their own. But, some people disagree with that classification, and so I guess I’m just bringing it up as a nitpick :slight_smile:

I don’t know if there is even a proposed timeframe for what you are asking - a cell, even the simplest ones, is a ridiculously complex thing - the sheer number of proteins, DNA, organelles and other cellular components that make up a cell make synthesizing it all and placing it together in a functional and self-sustaining manner is, I think, still definitely WAY our of our reach. (is that a coherent sentence?)