Where could I be sued? (internet law/juristdiciton)

I am a Canadian citizen who recently posted some writing on an American website that someone from Canadian business mentioned in the posting has suggested may be “slanderous”. I am currently a resident of Paris, France and I made the posting I did so from here.

So without considering the content of my writing, simply from a jurisdictional point of view, in which, if any, country could the Canadian company file a viable lawsuit against me?

Is your question if you could potentially be sued in any of those jurisdictions if they had a law that you broke, or is it in regard to a particular jurisdiction’s reach?

well for example, I did not upload any information to a canadian server nor did I send any information from inside canada, therefore, even though the company threatening to sue is in Canada I don’t think (but would like to know) they could attempt to file lawsuit against me in that country.

in other words, which, if any, courts might have jurisdiction to hear a civil action relating to this matter?

you are new to the internet aren’t you?

they are bluffing. don’t sweat it. making you sweat is their goal.

Ppppffft!!! I probably slandered half a dozen companies in the last half hour. Not sued once. Your mileage, however, may vary.

The person making that suggestion does not know the meaning of the word ‘slander’. It is not possible to slander someone over the internet. You can libel them, but not slander. Slander is a harmful statement in a transitory form, especially speech; libel is defamation by written or printed words, pictures, or in any form other than by spoken words or gestures. You did not slander them, no matter what you posted.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Defamation#Slander

Something I learned the first time I received an international lawyergram: