Which is more fatning beer or whisky?

Which is more fattning a 12oz. beer or a shot of whiskey.
In other words which one would I want to drink if I wanted
to loose wieght? (and please don’t say niether:) )

A two-minute Google search suggests 146 calories in a 12oz beer and between 97 and 124 calories in a 1.5oz shot of spirits (depending on type).

By the way, if you want to lose weight, don’t drink either. You can’t lose weight by drinking.

I’m not an expert on diet, but I’m pretty confident that more calories doesn’t necessarily mean more fattening. I would submit that the way foods interact with your body is difficult to boil down to one simple number.

That said, I know a good number of drinkers, and (based on my highly unscientific discussions with them) it seems pretty clear that beer is more fattening.

According to Wine Spectator
On average a 12 oz beer has 150 calories, a 5 oz serving of wine had 100 calories, and a 1.5 oz serving of spirits contain 100 calories. (Numbers are averaged and calories can vary as can alcoholic content, etc.) If you mix the whiskey with anything besides water, you’ll need to account for the caloric content of the mixer as well.

Not so, luc. Calories is calories is calories. Beer’s calories come from carbohydrates and ethyl alcohol (also a carbohydrate, but a pretty simple one), while whiskey’s come from alcohol alone. But the end result of metabolizing them is the same. Neither contain any essential fatty acids or amino acids to build useful stuff out of, so the body just burns them for energy or converts them to fat to store for energy.

And the way foods interact with your body to provide it basic energy can be reduced to one simple number, calories. Granted, if your GI tract is less adept at handling hi fiber or hi fats, you may absorb less, but this doesn’t come into play with beer and whisky.

Qadgop, MD

Well, that’s generally true, but it’s more complicated than that.