Which motorcycle to buy?

I just started riding last summer and i’m thoroughly addicted, i bought my freind’s '83 Yamaha Virago Midnight 920 for $150, and it took about $450 in work to get it running again last year, so for $600 it wasn’t a bad deal

here’s the problem, the Virago is really showing it’s age, it requires leaded gas (or lead substitute), it’s cosmetically rough (that’s irrelavent anyway), and it backfires at around 3000 RPM, mostly when i come off the gas and back on, it’s random and the volume varies, sometimes it’s a little pop, sometimes it sounds like a shotgun blast, and it has the infamous wonky starter endemic to early Yamahas

still, it was (and still is) a good learning bike, but i want something that’s more modern, more reliable, and doesn’t backfire

i’d like to keep the cost under $9000

so far i’ve looked at the following;

Harley;
Sportster 883 and 1100, test rode the 1100, nice bike, good power, just feels a little heavy, not as quick steering response as the Virago, plus the seat pegs are too far forward

at $7500 it’s the most expensive one i’ve tested so far

no i don’t care if the Sportster is considered a “girls or beginner’s bike”, i am a beginner, and i need a low to the ground, easy to maneuver bike that won’t run away from me

Honda;
Shadow Spirit 750, it’s a last-years model and at around $5500, it’s a good value, just not sure how much of a power loss i’d notice going from a 1983 era 920CC to a 2003 era 750, also it’s a chain-drive model and i’m a little leery of chain drive (i understand they’ve gotten better though)

Yamaha;
the Honda/Yamaha dealer i saw the Shadow at also has a used Yamaha V-star (650 i think) with saddlebags, floorboards, a fairing, full dresser, around 25,000 miles for around $3500, it’s a shaft drive, which i like, but it’s air-cooled, which the salesperson was saying isn’t good (i think he’s trying to get me into the more expensive new Shadow), my Virago’s air-cooled and seems to run okay…