Which North American Airports Entail Particularly Steep Takeoffs?

I’ve flown in and out of probably 200 airports and recently noted the steep takeoff from San Francisco.

Steep, at least, compared to the gentle ascent at Dulles in Washington or at Charlotte, for instance.

Which other airports can or tend to entail steep ascents? A flight attendant recently told me that the takeoffs from John Wayne Airport in Orange County, California are exceptionally steep. She also said that given noise abatement laws, airliners will take off very steeply and then, at a couple thousand feet, suddenly cut back the engine power. She said this can be rather alarming to newbies.

They do this at LAX, but not being a Heavy pilot I don’t know what it ‘steep’ for them. Aircraft have best-rate-of-climb speeds (V[sub]y[/sub], greatest gain in altitude per unit of time) and best-angle-of-climb speeds (V[sub]x[/sub], greatest gain in altitude per unit of distance). I’m guessing that they use whatever is more efficient given local noise regulations. At LAX the jets usually take off over the ocean, but there’s El Segundo and Westchester and Marina del Rey right next to it. I don’t know the noise-abatement regulations there.

A friend that works in Saltillo tells me that Monterrey, Mexico has a really steep ascent and descent due to its mountain location. I’ve not had that pleasure myself, yet.

From the IAP books I have in front of me San Franciso has a minimum climb of 520’ and 500’ from runways 19L and 19R. The other runways are either normal or don’t say. I’d have to guess it’s because of the buildings around the airport. The airport elevation is only 13 feet, while there are buildings in the area that run up to 2000 feet within a couple of nautical miles.