Which profession has the most / least interesting people

To make a long story short: I used to be an scientist, and I switched to medicine.

I’ve found that there is a weird discrepancy between the people with whom I interacted in my specialty in science (which I will name later, if this thread generates discussion), and the people with whom I interact now. Simply put, I know about six doctors (one on the dope) who have something interesting to say about something other than medicine, real estate or shopping. In my old field, pretty much everyone had interesting ideas to share about string theory, the Loch Ness monster, prehistoric Briton, prime numbers, the ecological distribution of restaurants, Sartre, wine…you name it.

So I ask- which profession has the most interesting people, which has the least?

Dear Mods, move this thread as you will.

The brokerage industry has dull people. I’m not that interesting and I’m a Doper.

The most uninteresting has to be Education. Damn, those people are boring! Even in their specialty areas, most are dull as dirt.

As for most interesting…well, it really depends on how you define that word. Let me think on it awhile.

You allude to scientists, and I find scientists to be extremely interesting, if eccentric and sometimes crazy people. The only other profession I have to compare to it is the service industry, and those people were an extremely diverse group.

[quote=Kramer]
Have you ever met a proctologist? Well, they usually have a very good sense of humor. You meet a proctologist at a party, don’t walk away. Plant yourself there, because you will hear the funniest stories you’ve ever heard. See, no one wants to admit to them that they stuck something up there. Never! It’s always an accident. Every proctologist story ends in the same way: “It was a million to one shot, Doc. Million to one.”

[quote]

See, I find teachers really interesting. Sometimes not on purpose, of course, but interesting all the same.