Which (used) mountain bike should I buy? (longish OP)

Okay, here’s the situation. I’m a total newbie to the sport of mountain biking. I want to buy a used bike, and I want to get a good bike. I don’t mind spending a little money, though I may wind up getting a new bike later on, when I have a better understanding of the pros and cons of various components and such. For now, I want to get the highest quality bike that is appropriate for me that can be purchased used.

What I plan to use the bike for is to ride various trails around the Los Angeles area. These trails generally involve lots of up and down sections. I’ve read that hardtail bikes are better than dual shock for this type of riding.

Also, I’m 6’1" tall with a 34" inseam. I’ve seen a few different formulas for computing the best frame size, but they all seem to average out to around 19"-21".

Here are some of the listings from Recycler.com for my area code, with my comments in italics below each one:

SPECIALIZED M2 Works, aluminum mountain bike, custom built, XTR front & rear, 19", 21 speed, Rock Shox, paid $600, sacrifice $200
Sounds like a dual shock, I’m not sure. The frame size is right, and the price is good

BALANCE mountain bike, completely customized & race ready, excellent condition, accessories included, $500
Need to call for more info…

RALLY M60 mountain bike, blue & white, low miles, like brand new, paid $450, sell $300
Need to call for more info…

kona blast mountain bike with platform peddles,excellent condition.color grey $400
I emailed this guy for more info. He said it’s a 19" frame and has 21 speeds

98 diamondback XC mountain bike, full shimano lx 8spd, manitou sx-r fork, 18’’ frame, tuned and serviced, in Glendale, click for full specs. $600