Who among us can sing?

I have no illusions of any sort of performing, but I would love to be able to achieve some level of competence.

I do have musical ability - can read music and play piano. And I am able to come up with a pleasant tone here and there that is on pitch, but not consistently. In other words, I can sing a song and maybe half of it sounds very good, but the other half is embarrassing.

If you are so blessed, how did you arrive at wherever you are, talent-wise? Were you born with it? Did you work hard? Have any of you done so without formal lessons (self-taught)?

I don’t want to take vocal lessons, but I would like to find some way to improve on my own.
mmm

I don’t sing, in my respect for that word, but I sell songs. Meaning, I can more or less sing in tune, have a bit of character and energy in my voice, and can do it while playing guitar. I have sung in many bands and get the “character” songs - e.g., Fred Schneider’s bit for Love Shack; the songs That’s What I Like About You or Blister in the Sun. You get the idea :wink:

There are a number of singers here, and there have been some threads about tips on singing. For me, my singing got somewhat better because of yoga. That is to say - the core of your success or failure as a singer is your breathing, and the interaction between your breathing system and your vocal system. I found, completely at random, that as I stuck with yoga over a few years and my breathing practice improved, I saw direct, obvious improvements in my singing. Makes sense, but I wasn’t looking for that, it just happened. Once I saw the connection, however, I embraced it and focus on my breathing.

So: understanding how to focus on your breathing, and how you use breath in your singing, is the most important thing. There are many ways to improve that understanding; turns out yoga helped me.