Who do I have to **** to get an interview?

So I apply for a customer service job last week. According to the ad they’re looking for 3 years of customer service or collections experience with “healthcare experience” and a bachelor’s degree preferred.

I have 10 years of customer service experience. This includes 18 months of collections experience and three years working for health insurance companies. I have a bachelor’s degree.

On paper, wouldn’t you think this rates at least an interview?

Today I get a form letter from the company thanking me for applying but stating that they are looking for someone who more closely conforms to their requirements.

Excuse me? You asked for customer service or collections and I have both, “healthcare experience” which I have and a degree which I also have. How the fuck more closely do you expect someone to conform to your requirements than 100%?

I am so fucking frustrated with this shit.

Overqualified. They’re afraid you’ll want too much money or that, if you take the job, you’ll get bored and leave.

You can always answer the “overqualified” line with “Yeah, but I’m an underachiever, so it all evens out”

Seriously though, I was in your shoes a year ago Otto. It sucks, but keep sending out those resumes.

Didn’t I already tell you and your boyfriend to move up to Canada? We’re more than willing to hire overqualified people and pay them a pittance. Even more of a pittance when you throw in the currency conversion. C’mon up! :smiley:

Yep, I can’t tell you the number of times I screamed at the gods, demanding to know why I, who was perfectly qualified, did not get the interview.

The gods have still not told me. It’s bullshit out there. Try not to take it to personally.