Who Taught You How To Read And Write?

(I assume this should go in IMHO. I will be interested to find out why it shouldn’t, if that happens:).)

A general question for all of you: Who taught you how to read and write? For me, it was definitely my mother. I often would much rather be playing, as a small child. But she was always the one who took me aside, and said, No, this is much more important.

I guess for the rest of you, if could be your father, a teacher, a sibling. My adopted cousin was purportedly self-taught, if you can believe that. And tragically, some people never had someone who took the time. And so they are functionally illiterate.

Sad. But for the rest of you: Who taught you?

:):):slight_smile:

I don’t remember myself, but according to my mother, I taught myself to read. She had been a preschool teacher before I was born, and so would have read to me a lot when I was young. At that age, children often remember the words of the stories read to them, an apparently I just was able to make te connection between te spoken words and the words of te oage.

Dad taught me to read, but he didn’t mean to; he spent a lot of his free time reading and was willing to answer “Papa, what are you doing?” at length. He was as surprised as Mom when my teacher called them to yell at them for “forcing their poor child to learn to read” (cry me a river, you prescriptive bitch; children aren’t Lego pieces).

Writing came later, starting the year before first grade.

Writing well came even later and can be attributed mostly to my college teachers and to an English programmer and MUD-writer who finally explained how to create good descriptions. My school teachers had often complained about my descriptions being poor but appeared unable to describe how to make them rich; an experiment in 9th grade had determined that particular teacher’s idea of “rich” meant “pour on the sweetness and pile up the polysyllabic adjectives” (bleagh).