Why Are Fans Set Up This Way?

I have always wondered by most (but not all) fans have a switch that must pass through high first, then medium and low.

I am wondering if anyone knows the reason for this, and I would like to posit a hypothesis.

I wonder if it is because going straight to low could result in a situation where the motor (especially if older, dirty, etc) would not be able to overcome the static friction, causing an overheat. But by passing through the higher settings first, the increased power (torque) ensures that the motor gets moving.
Of course, this is not supported by the presence of push-button fans that can go straight to the low setting.

Does anybody know the reason for this counter intuitive arrangement? Does the hypothesis stand up to scrutiny?

Or any fan that can be unplugged from the wall: turn switch to “low,” then plug in. Which means pretty much any fan.

Check out this site, it may have some answers.

I’m not an expert on motors. But I believe it is less stressful on the motor windings.

When you first apply a voltage to a motor, the impedance is very low. Low impedance = high current = high power dissipation in windings. The impedance increases as the motor RPM increases.

When the fan is set to high speed, and you turn it on, the motor spends less time in the “low impedance” mode. Which means the windings spend less time in “high dissipation mode.” When the fan is set to low speed, and you turn it on, the motor spends more time in the “low impedance” mode. Which means the windings spend more time in “high dissipation mode.”

Or something like that.

No reason, totally arbitrary choice.

Most fan dial controllers really do have off, slow,medium ,fast, in my experience.

The fan controller on the wall here can be rotated 360, so you can go from fast to off to slow… ,which means if its off you can go to either slow or fast…