Why are managers so highly paid?

I’d like to add a little background here…

I’ve been working in the ‘real world’ for about 5 years now. I’ve had 3 jobs (2 cities), and I’m currently a network engineer/software-hardware guru for a small software company. I’ve developed one hell of a skill set over the years, and I can troubleshoot just about any problem, almost sight unseen. I have current knowledge about most areas of the field, I work long, tiring hours (12+ a day) when necessary. I solve the problems that everyone else gives up on.

(I’m not trying to shine my own apple here, but I want you to know that I’m no slacker.)

No matter where I look, two things always seem true:

–the manager (team lead, senior tech, whatever) who performs a functional role (as in, they never solve problems, they never build machines, they never have to do the real work) gets paid 30-50% more than the ones doing the actual work. By actual work, I mean that the projects in my hands end up in the customers hands–my work generates direct profits.

–the manager, invariably does not have the skills or knowledge required to do the job I do. They simply decide what to do and when (often at my advice) and tell me to do it. Not how to do it, or what to use, or anything else, just where and when.

Am I the only one who sees something wrong with this?

Am I the only one who thinks that your manager should be able to perform your job? (If for no other reason than that if I should spontaneously combust, someone should be able to do it)

Effectively, managers know only one thing: how to organize and implement people and projects. Is this really worth more than any other skill set?

Do astronauts make less than their ‘managers’? What about ‘rocket scientists’?

Are there any companies that value technical prowess more than managerial skills?

Aside from artists, athletes and musicians, this is almost invariably the case. I have often wondered as much myself, but have no decent theory.