Why are software users tolerating subscription software?

We used to joke about software someday expiring or requiring a regular fee to keep it activated. Never thought in a million years that Consumers would allow themselves to be shaken down like this.

It’s happened. There’s been no consumer revolt. I recently bought a used copy of Photoshop CS6. The very last version of Photoshop before the dreaded subscription service began.

I never bought into purchasing regular updates for software. I still use Office 2003. It does exactly what I need. I use Word, Excel, Powerpoint and Access. I still use Ms Publisher too. I have no interest at all in upgrading. Not when what I have works perfectly. I’ve been using Photoshop 6 since 2001. I have to install it in a XP partition, but it still works fine under that OS. If what I have works, then I won’t update it. It’s like the 12 year old pairs of Levis I own. They fit great, look great, and feel comfortable. Why would I throw them out for new pairs?

Can someone explain the logic for tolerating subscription software? Why have Consumers meekly rolled over and accepted this shakedown? I understand that as an individual we are totally helpless. But, if a large enough group said HELL NO!!! That would end this nonsense.

is there some great value in subscription software that I’m missing? I know Photoshop claims they are charging a monthly fee for their cloud service. Why on earth would I want that when Terabyte hard drives are less than a $100?

What am I missing here?

So far what other software packages have gone subscription only? Is Ms Office only subscription now? What else?

how many consumers are actually using a legitimately purchased version of Adobe Photoshop/CS?

as far as Office goes, you can still buy non-subscription downloads of 2013. I have the subscription version because

1. I will likely always need Office,
  2. I can legally install it on more than one machine (5 PCs/Macs, plus up to 5 mobile devices)