Why aren't film noir movies more popular?

A few months ago I watched Payback via Netflix. Based on Richard Stark’s Parker novels (which are currently being adapted into graphic novel form by Darwyn Cooke, and are fantastic), it’s not so much a detective movie as it is a “bad guy goes and gets revenge on even worse guys”. It wasn’t a great film, and had a lot of flaws. But the major elements of a film noir were there (I’m not an expert or anything, but it’s definitely a different feel and flavor that I associate with noir).

With the exception of that as well as movies like Sin City and The Spirit (do not see this movie - going from Payback in 1999 up to The Spirit in 2008, there’s a serious drop in quality), I can’t think of any other recent examples. I fear that if The Maltese Falcon were released today, it would be more The Spirit than Payback, and that’s still a major decline.

Am I missing a giant treasure trove of movies out there (from recently), do people just not like these movies anymore, or something else?

Could you clarify first, how you define film noir? And do you consider neo noir and Cyberpunk to be sub-genres or are they too different to be pooled together? Your inclusion of Sin City seems to suggest that you might be willing to add the new Batman movies too, maybe even Watchmen?

I think they’re incredibly well-liked among film buffs – I went through a period of a few months watching every film noir I could find, which could have been well ahead of a hundred, depending on the definition of films noirs, but even then missed some classics I couldn’t track down locally.

If you check the film criticism section at a library – university or public – you’ll probably see more books about “noir” directors (I’m including people like R. Siodmak, Lang, Hawks, Huston, Welles, Wilder, who didn’t just do noirs but did some of the best) and films than anything else.