Why aren't house pipes smaller?

I was trying to wash something in the kitchen sink and it occurred to me that I need very hot and high pressure water. Both of which should be served by smaller pipes - hot because it would take less time for hot to get to the spout, and pressure because smaller pipes causes higher pressure (I assume by experiments with my thumb and the garden hose).

So except for the bath, for which a high water volume is needed, why aren’t house water pipes a smaller diameter? This would mean both that hot water got to the sink faster, and that it was higher pressure and therefore better at cleaning things.

The water would also get colder quicker in a small pipe. Samll pipes are easier to clog with scale. It’s much easier to damage small pipes.

What makes you think that? I am no expert, but I should have thought that if anything the reverse would be true. Certainly a narrower pipe would deliver less water in the same time.

It works to a point to maintain pressure when other locations get turned on, but the feed is off a larger pipe that can supply the needed volume to both locations using the water. They do reduce the size of pipes that split off to other fixtures to maintain pressure. Get too narrow a pipe and the pressure can drop at the faucet because of the flow restriction. Using the smallest pipe that provides the needed output volume will take less time to get hot water than the pipe the is too large of a capacity, but those larger capacity pipes are needed before the splits to other faucets

I used to work on cartridges to mix hot and cold in plumbing fixtures. The output hole restriction to the spout was about 1/4 to 3/8 inches in diameter. Tubs may have a slightly larger hole. You want to make sure your water supply lines are no smaller than the faucet can handle.

You are correct in that hot water would arrive sooner with smaller pipes, since less volume flow is required to clear a smaller-diameter pipe.