Why didn't my student job report payroll taxes?

My wife happened to be looking at her “my social security” at my Social Security | SSA. She noticed that she had no wages reported for the years when she was a teaching assistant at college and wondered if something was wrong. I was curious, so I logged into my account. Sure enough, the years I was a TA, and the time I was a Graduate research assistant in grad school, I got paid, but nothing was reported to the SSA.

I have W-2s from those years, and while I paid income tax, there wasn’t any payroll tax taken out. I can’t find any reason for it searching the FAQs at SSA.gov, and I assume my college, which employs thousands of students each year, didn’t get it wrong for most of a decade.

So… why? What about those jobs meant I didn’t pay into SS for those years? It’s not simply the amount of the job - I have other W-2s for less money that did report to the system. I don’t think it’s the non-profit status of the school - all the FAQs I read said non-profits still pay SS and medicare taxes. Which leaves me puzzled, and turning to the teeming millions for illumination.

State school? You didn’t pay in to social security, you paid in to your state employees retirement system.

I don’t think they do this any more, but back when I was a grad student, my fellowship was not considered income, because teaching was considered part of my degree requirements. So, no tax withheld, no SS withheld.

Or sometimes neither- in my first government job, as a provisional employee I could either pay into both the pension and SS or pay into neither.Permanent employees at the time were required to pay into both.