Why do .40 caliber bullets have flat noses?

Seems like it would be aerodynamically inferior, and not feed as well as a rounded nose.

.40 caliber bullets can come in a variety of shapes, depending on their intended purpose.

A variety of calibers can be found with a flat nose, not just .40.

For what you’re seeing, the flat nose is probably intended to be used at relatively short range and meant to produce quite a bit of shock force on impact.

Here’s a reasonable guide on the relation between shape and purpose.

I fired a friends .45 SA over the weekend. He was using personal protection loads that had a flat/hollowed point. He explained that after initial penetration, they are designed to do more tissue damage than a rounded bullet would cause. They certainly destroyed the plywood we had the targets attached to.

Can you link to a .40 FMJ round that is not flat nosed? I’ve been shooting a 40 for ten years and I’ve never come across one. And I just thought of another question. Why are .40 rounds always fully jacketed?

Word of the day: “Meplat”

I believe www.grafs.com has them. I see them listed but it’s not worksafe for me, I get blocked.

Midway USA lists some; www.midwayusa.com/viewproduct/?productnumber=583506.

Plenty of hollow points out there… http://ammosphere.com/winchester-ranger-ra40t-40-caliber-ammunition-p-180.html?zenid=gp8pjqamud0a3g07ts0b02med0#

Shoot, I’m afraid the second link may be for .40 rifle. Worksafe is preventing me from being able to see any of their items.

Flat-nose==‘semi-wadcutter.’

Basically, designed to feed cleanly in a semi-auto pistol, and are a compromise between rapid energy transfer and penetration. They also make good target rounds, as they’re relatively inexpensive and make nice clean holes in the paper. Basically, it’s a utility bullet, acceptable for a variety of uses.

‘Full’ wadcutter bullets make cleaner holes, but generally don’t feed well in a semi-auto pistol.